Free shipping on all book subscriptions Free shipping on all book subscriptions

Journal

10 of our favourite reads of 2022

10 of our favourite reads of 2022


Many were our monthly selections, some were very close to being, and others we read after they'd published and wished they had been. All are very good reads!

  1. All This Could Be Different by Sarah Thankam Mathews
    A witty, tender and profound saga of queer love, work, friendship, healing and precarity in twenty-first century America.

  2. Bliss Montage by Ling Ma
    Eight wildly different tales of people making their way through the madness and reality of our collective delusions: love and loneliness, connection and possession, friendship, motherhood, the idea of home.

  3. Lucy by the Sea by Elizabeth Strout
    With her trademark spare, crystalline prose, Strout turns her exquisitely tuned eye to the inner workings of the human heart, following the indomitable heroine of My Name Is Lucy Barton through the early days of the pandemic.

  4. The Eulogy by Jackie Bailey
    A literary page-turner from new Australian voice Jackie Bailey – a story about family, death and grief that is full of love, humour and life.

  5. This Time Tomorrow by Emma Straub
    An entertaining charmer that unleashes the magic of time travel to sweeten its exploration of potentially heavy themes like mortality, the march of time, and how little decisions can alter your life.

  6. They're Going to Love You by Meg Howrey
    A gripping and gorgeously written novel of heartbreaking intensity. With psychological precision and a masterfully revealed secret at its heart, it asks what it takes to be an artist in America, and the price of forgiveness, of ambition, and of love.

  7. Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel
    A virtuoso performance that is as human and tender as it is intellectually playful, Sea of Tranquility is a novel of time travel and metaphysics that precisely captures the reality of our current moment.'

  8. Nightcrawling by Leila Mottley
    A dazzling novel about a young Black woman who walks the streets of Oakland and stumbles headlong into the failure of its justice system. This debut of a blazingly original voice “bursts at the seams of every page and swallows you whole” (Tommy Orange, author of There There).

  9. Sunbathing by Isobel Beech
    This spare, stunning novel explores the workings of the self in the wake of devastation and deep regret, and reveals the infinite ways that the everyday offers solace and hope.

  10. The Book of Goose by Yiyun Li
    A dark, ravishing tale winding from the rural provinces to Paris, from an English boarding school, to a quiet Pennsylvania home. The Book of Goose is a story of intimacy and obsession, friendship and rivalry perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante, Ottessa Moshfegh and Kamila Shamsie.
Feb 14, 2023

Wow
How female authors have come to the fore!!!

David Harmer

Leave a comment