Hot off the Press #2

Hot off the Press #2

Regular price
$80.00
Sale price
$80.00

A collection of recently released literary titles.

What's included in the pack:

Nightbitch by Rachel Yoder
For readers of Jenny Offill and Curtis Sittenfeld, this is a funny, provocative, pin-sharp novel that redefines modern motherhood

Freedom comes in many forms...

At home full-time with her two-year-old son, an artist finds she is struggling. She is lonely and exhausted. She had imagined - what was it she had imagined? Her husband, always travelling for his work, calls her from faraway hotel rooms. One more toddler bedtime, and she fears she might lose her mind.

Instead, quite suddenly, she starts gaining things, surprising things that happen one night when her child will not sleep. Sharper canines. Strange new patches of hair. New appetites, new instincts. And from deep within herself, a new voice...

With its clear eyes on contemporary womanhood and sharp take on structures of power, Nightbitch is an outrageously original, joyfully subversive read that will make you want to howl in laughter and recognition. Addictive enough to be devoured in one sitting, this is an unforgettable novel from a blazing new talent.

Trivial Grievances by Bridie Jabour
In the last days of 2019, journalist Bridie Jabour wrote a piece for The Guardian about the malaise of 31 year-old millennials and how the painful, protracted end of their adolescence is finally hitting home; they’re hitting their thirties and the vast majority are neither famous, award-winning or rich - and that’s making them miserable.

The article went viral overnight, the response from readers was overwhelming, and Bridie decided the time had come to write a book about her generation - those much-maligned millennials. After all, she reasoned, this generation is coming of age in a fairly unique set of social and economic circumstances, including precarious work, delayed baby-making, rising singledom, a pandemic, a heating planet, loss of religion and increased unstable housing. But much to her surprise, despite her assumption that this generation of 31-year-olds is the most miserable ever, she discovered that wasn’t the whole truth…

Forthright, funny, incisive, provocative and insightful, Trivial Grievances is truly a book for our times, and for every twenty- or thirty-something anxious about their place in the world.

12 Bytes by Jeanette Winterson
Twelve bytes. Twelve eye-opening, mind-expanding, funny and provocative essays on the implications of artificial intelligence for the way we live and the way we love - from Sunday Times-bestselling author Jeanette Winterson.

An original, and entertaining new book from Jeanette Winterson, drawing on her years of thinking about and reading about Artificial Intelligence in its bewildering manifestations. She looks to history, religion, myth, literature, the politics of race and gender, and of course, computing science, to help us understand the radical changes to the way we live and love that are happening now.

When we create non-biological life-forms, will we do so in our image? Or will we accept the once-in-a-species opportunity to remake ourselves in their image?

What do love, caring, sex, and attachment look like when humans form connections with non-human helpers teachers, sex-workers, and companions? And what will happen to our deep-rooted assumptions about gender?

Will the physical body that is our home soon be enhanced by biological and neural implants, keeping us fitter, younger, and connected? Is it time to join Elon Musk and leave Planet Earth?

With wit, compassion and curiosity, Winterson tackles AI's most interesting talking points, from the algorithms that data-dossier your whole life, to the weirdness of backing up your brain.

How does it work?

  • Shipping is included in the price.
  • Once you've placed your order we'll dispatch the book pack.
  • We can include a handwritten note in the delivery if it's a gift. Just enter your message in the ‘Add a note to your order’ section on the cart page.
  • See the other packs here.

WellRead helps you to experience the immeasurable power of reading. For more information on how it works, check out our FAQs page.